The Valla guide to
Protected characteristics

People in England, Scotland and Wales are protected from discrimination by the Equality Act 2010 based on nine ‘protected characteristics’.

It’s illegal for you to be mistreated based on your age, race, disability, religion or belief, sex, sexual orientation, pregnancy or maternity, gender reassignment, marriage or civil partnership.

Where to start

The 9 protected characteristics

The Equality Act 2010 protects people against discrimination. The Act lists 9 ‘protected characteristics’ including age, gender, race, disability, religion and more.

9 minute read

5 Examples of workplace behaviour that’s not okay

Everyone deserves to be treated with respect at work. If you are worried about how you are being treated, here are just a few examples of behaviour that is not ok.

10 minute read

Discrimination guides

Video lessons from Valla

Examples of real discrimination cases

Real examples of employment tribunal claims for workplace discrimination, and why they succeeded or failed.

How to take action

Templates you can use in discrimination cases

These document and letter templates are useful in cases of discrimination.

Help a friend or colleague

  • Become a discrimination first aider

    Become a first responder in times of crisis – someone that others can come to for help, trained in the basics of what rights employees have, discrimination law and work and what steps they can take next.

Other useful resources